It’s going down…I’m yelling ‘Timber!’

This week’s photojournalism class focused on sports shots, action and movement. Alix and I decided to go make photos at Timber Lanes off the Irving Park brown line stop. This group of friends were kind enough to let us creep on their bowling party to take pictures. Bob the manager led us to the back of the alley to take some more shots. I’ve always wondered how pins were reset and balls returned.

This is what I came back with. Let me be the first to tell you: Bowling is really hard to shoot. After this, I can’t even imagine trying to chase something faster, like a soccer ball, with my camera. (There are a few repeat shots, but I couldn’t decide which ones I liked better. Critiques welcome.)

DSC_8436ps

DSC_8492ps

Erin Duffy picks up his ball as he aims to throw a spare.

DSC_8343ps

DSC_8322ps

DSC_8463ps

DSC_8497ps

DSC_8587ps

DSC_8593ps

I liked both these shots because 1) I’m a huge fan of vertical photos. I was trained that way by my b&w film photography teacher back in high school but 2) I love the kid on the far right. Like, he’s just being such a naughty little kid.

DSC_8393ps

Duffy reacts as he walks away from his throw. He missed his spare.

DSC_8468ps

Paul Augsburger takes his turn.

DSC_8514ps

William Brown assumes the position.

DSC_8407ps

DSC_8422ps

DSC_8520ps

Kids use the ramp to throw their bowling balls. Some thought it would be funny to roll more than one onto the alley. Bob didn’t seem to mind.

DSC_8547ps

DSC_8561ps

Leave a Reply

