Welcome one, welcome all

I’ve finally joined in with the times, gotten my act together and created a blog. I’ll be posting stories I produce throughout my year at Medill and from whatever my endeavors thereafter.

If you’re looking for a blast from my writing past, I’ve created the “Published” tab. The tag BNT will show everything I wrote while interning with the Ballard News-Tribune in Seattle, WA. The tag NWAW will show you my freelance work for the Northwest Asian Weekly, also in Seattle. While from now on I’ll be posting my Medill work on the main page, the “Medill” tab will single them out and include unpublished work from my first quarter.

So, for those of you who don’t know, here’s the quick rundown: I was born and raised in the Bay Area in California. After I was accepted to the University of Washington, my parents dropped me off in Seattle and up and moved overseas to Hong Kong. At UW, I majored in Journalism and minored in Law, Societies and Justice. During my junior year, I had the opportunity to study in Ecuador, where I became impassioned about the environment after seeing the devastation of oil spills in the Amazon (don’t get me started). Though I learned a lot at UW, I learned even more through my internships writing and/or editing at (bear with me as I do some name-dropping) KCTS9, Rick Steves’, The Seattle Times and Fox International Channels. I took a year and a half off after graduation to write for the BNT and NWAW before I decided a master’s degree might look nice on my résumé. Northwestern University graciously accepted me, and I jumped at the chance to move to Chicago and finally try real deep-dish pizza. Why I gradually moved further and further away from the sun and into the “polar vortex” and -70 degree wind chills, even I don’t know.

So here I am. This is my blog. Follow me as I explore the world of video broadcasting and look out for occasional posts about my shenanigans as I explore, report and eat my way through the Windy City. Thanks for tuning in!

Cheers to the new year!

Leave a Reply

